North Carolina has its own drug laws. They specify which drugs are illegal, which ones in what amounts are misdemeanors or felonies, what evidence can be used in court, and the possible penalties for those found guilty.
According to The Charlotte Observer, the operator of a vehicle is considered a drunk driver if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. For commercial drivers, the BAC legal limit in North Carolina is just 0.04%. Contrary to what many people believe, even without a BAC test, a police officer may still charge a driver with a DUI or DWI if they are “appreciably impaired.” A DWI is considered a misdemeanor and may lead to jailtime ranging from 24 hours to 2 years or fines of $200 to $4,000.
North Carolina has struggled to get a hold on criminal activities over the years, but a recent report shows at least one city was experiencing an all-time low. Roughly two hours’ drive from Concord is the city of Durham. According to ABC News, the police chief in the area reported a four-year low in the crime rate for 2018, which dropped by 13%.